Elisa's story in London


My name is Elisa and I’m 21 years old. I come from a little village in the north of Italy on Lake Maggiore, one hour far from the big city of Milan where I’m attending the 3th and last year of university.

Since I was I child I always wanted to study languages that’s why I decided to attend first a foreign language high school and then a university course which focuses both on languages and economic subjects.

Following my passion for languages I decided to look for an internship far from home both because I wanted to improve my English skills and I was looking for an experience that could make me grow. After a lot of researches on the internet I finally found the best internship ever for the company Your House London where now I’m working close to the founder Ana, who is a very nice and helpful person. In short, the best boss I have ever had!

Not only am I in love with the work I’m doing here but I’m also in love with London city. It’s such a big city that even if I’m here alone I can’t feel lonely. There are always people walking in the streets coming from all over the world and that make you feel like home. Moreover you can’t even get bored because it’s full of activities you can do like visiting museums, going for a walk in one of the big parks or simply go for a coffee in a café (even if it’s not like the Italian one!!).

Honestly, I was a little bit scared when I decided to leave but now, even if it’s only 2 weeks I’m here, I’m happy and I think this is one of the best decisions I have ever made. I’m sure this experience will be useful for my professional future but also for me as a person because I’m learning to do everything only by myself with no one helping me.

My advice for students like me is not to be scared to leave places you know and just look for something new!

Sign up for ourNewsletter